I been thinking about writing on this topic for quite some time now, I think one of the biggest problems people have is time management and more precisely wasting time, with useless activities. In this post I will share some ideas and some of my personal techniques and practices about how I combat wasting time, and what I do on a day-to-day basis to manage my time.

This post will be a bit more narrowed towards business people, entrepreneurs and companies. But it is also very useful for people who are not interested in business as well.

Let’s start with the concept of time – Time is the only thing that is the same for absolutely everyone in the world, doesn’t matter who you are, where you from and what’s your financial level. We all have 24 hours in a day and 365 days in a year.

Time is the second most valuable asset after our health, the best part about time is that it’s free. You don’t have to pay to have 24 hours in one day, they are just handed out to you. Then I ask myself: How the hell there are people out there who are not happy or not financially stable, since we all have the time asset distributed equally. And then I remember – People don’t value and invest time the right way.

That’s why I think that time management and time investment is crucial for a healthy, balanced and happy life. And it will do wonders for your career as well.

A quick story from my younger years about time management – From the 5th to the 10th grade I was obsessed with the game of basketball, I was so in to it I spend almost every waking hour (besides school and homework) playing and thinking about the game (if I could I would probably married a basketball back in the day if it was legal, that’s how much I was in to the game). Investing my time in to the sport was one of the best decisions I have ever made, even though I didn’t become a professional player (that was my dream at the time) the sport really taught me a lot of lessons (I will write a separate post about what I exactly learned, so make sure to follow this blog) and most importantly it kept me off alcohol and drugs, at a time when a lot of people in my neighbourhood ware involved in crime, gangs and drugs, all I was interested in was basketball. So this quick story emphasises the importance of time investment.

For The Love Of The Game
For The Love Of The Game

OK let’s get back to the nitty-gritty technical stuff. Now since we discussed time-wasting and the importance of time investments, let’s look at some practical tactics that you can use, first with time-wasting and then with time investing.

How to stop wasting time:

#1. Quit or minimise the bad habits – smoking, drinking and partying too much can be hard to stop, try to minimise them with consistency,

#2. Don’t sleep too much and too late in the morning – 7 to 8 hours sleep is enough for a day, don’t oversleep, make sure to use an alarm clock if you have too, and try to avoid the “only 5 more minutes trick”. What I usually do is put my alarm clock on the other side of the room, so this way I’m forced to wake up and stop it.

ZzZzZz
ZzZzZz

#3. Lose or limit your interaction with the time wasters – we all have or know people who don’t have much going on or push is in to doing things that are bad for us, try to limit your interaction with them as much as possible. If you have to make up some story that you’re busy that day and you can’t see them do it. Or if you are more straight forward type of person (like me) just tell them that you want to end or limit the relationship.

#4. Ignore the haters – My policy with dealing with people who don’t like who I’m or what I do, is very simple – complete ignore. Spending time trying to convince the inconvincible is a waste of time.

#5. Pick and choose your “digital distractions” carefully – I personally use social media to get my news, world events, talk with the family, research and to do a bit of business and promotion.  If you struggle with social media there are a few apps you can use to manage your time spend on social media (A few apps that may come in handy not only for business – 5 Google Chrome Extensions For Every Home Based Business)

If you want a bit of digital distraction why not check me out on Instagram –  instagram.com/mikeyanek/

Choose Carefully
Choose Carefully

How to invest your time

I just have to add this note here that this is for time that will usually be wasted or for your free time, things like exercise and spend time with the family are not included here, because these are some basic stuff that everybody knows and practices, I want to give you alternative content that you cannot find everywhere.

#1. Turn your watching in to researching and studying – Now I know that this sounds strange, but we all watch something doesn’t matter if its real life people, events, TV or YouTube. We all consume content for different reasons, what I do is when I consume it 80% of the time I study it. I study people, celebrities, athletes, fictional characters and cultures. I pick and choose the qualities I find interesting and the things that I want to have and I adopt them and improve upon them. I will be writing more on this topic in the future and I will be writing about the things I have learned from some real and fictional people, so stay tuned.

Study Tool or a Watse of Time - You Decide
Study Tool or a Waste of Time – You Decide

#2.The waiting time – work on your skills and develop yourself in the “waiting time” – travelling, waiting in traffic, sitting in the waiting room, waiting for the bus to arrive. These are situations that we are forced to wait and lose time, why not invest that time instead for throwing it away? I think that this is a time period that if you learn (with practice) how to take advantage of, you will be able to get a lot of things done. Whenever I’m in a situation like this most of the times if I have the space I carry with me a A5 Note Pad, most of the times I will be thinking about articles to write, improving on my business or thinking of new posts for my social media.

#3. Turn walking in to visualisation investment – when you’re walking to work or just having a walk in the park, use the time to visualise your goals and dreams turning in to reality. I do this all the time, I like to put on some motivational music and just visualise my goals and how they become a reality. It works for me every time.

Ok folks, this is it for now, I don’t want this post to become way to long. I will be writing on similar topics in the future so no worries if this is not enough information for now, make sure to follow and bookmark this blog for updates.

Some of the information and the whole inspiration for this post was taken from my book – “Just Do It – Damn It” that you can check out on Amazon:

(America) — Just Do It – Damn It: The Approach To Life, Business & Success

(United Kingdom) – Just Do It – Damn It: The Approach To Life, Business & Success

(Germany Just Do It – Damn It – by – Mike Yanek (eBook)

Thank you for reading I hope you enjoyed this post and make sure to fallow and bookmark this blog for the latest posts.

Support this Site:

All the content I’m creating is free of charge, however if you wish to support this site so I can dedicate more time to creating quality content, you can help out by:

