For the last 15 years I have been pursuing a hobby of mine and that is to study people, characters and cultures. I decided to start sharing with you all the high-profile people and characters that I have been studying in my 20’s and all the life lessons and characters traits that I have learned from them. I think that studying and analysing people’s behaviours and traits can be hugely beneficial for your personal development. I will be talking more about my fascination with the human character and though process in the future, now I want to kick things off with the first entry to the series… Bruce Lee.

There are so many things that fascinate me regarding the whole persona surrounding Bruce Lee, the influence he has on me, can easily fill up a book, but I decided to narrow it down to the 4 main life lessons that I learned from him.

Who was Bruce Lee?

Born in 27 November 1940,(Died 20 July 1973) Lee Jun-fan, known professionally as Bruce Lee, was a Hong Kong and American martial artist,  (founder of the martial art Jeet Kune Do) actor, philosopher and filmmaker.

Bruce Lee was a pop culture icon of the 20th century. One of the most influential martial artists of all time. A revolutionary in the martial arts industry and film industry, he is often credited with helping to change the way Asians were presented in American films.

The accomplishments of Bruce Lee are way to many to list here, but I’m sure that there are very few people in the world who have no idea who this man is. He’s legacy speaks for itself.

Let’s have a look now at the 4 main life lessons I have learned from Bruce Lee, I will share my prospective with some call to action and advice, so you can have something helpful and practical when you finish reading.

#1 Keep yourself at peak condition

Bruce Lee looked always mentally and physically ready for a fight, and I’m sure that was the case back in the day, there is something very self assuring to be constantly in peak performance condition, it’s very hard to achieve, but it’s possible if you do it every day. Now when I talk about peak condition don’t understand it in a way that you need to go down to the nearest bar and pick u p a fight just to test yourself, no! Whatever you are practising, working or developing in your life always strive to be ready for a “fight” (figuratively speaking). If you are philosopher be ready for a debate throw down with an opponent, if you’re a musician be ready to sing or play, if you are a comedian pop a few jokes when needed. The whole concept behind the peak condition at your craft is that it gives you supreme confidence in the long-term (if you are good at what you do) and also will open a lot of doors for you since you never know what opportunity will jump out of nowhere and you will have to use your skills and talents.

Bruce Lee Statue in Hong Kong

#2 Develop your personal philosophy

One of the things that made the biggest impression on me, when I started to study Bruce Lee back in the day, was he’s life philosophy. If you show a group of 20 year old’s (who don’t know who he is) videos of Bruce Lee speaking about life and expressing he’s views on certain topics, and then you ask the group to tell you in which industry is Bruce Lee is active, I’m sure a good number of people will say philosophy and writing.

He’s philosophy and thought process was so sharp and ahead of he’s time (for America and the west) that it’s obvious that he has spends a lot of time in front of the books and inside he’s head, not only in the gym developing he’s fighting skills.

Developing your personal philosophy is crucial (in my opinion) for a meaningful life.

I can advise you that if you don’t have a personal philosophy or a code of conduct, take 30-60 minutes each weekend and just sit down with a pen and a pad and  start writing all your believes and views on different topics and events. What do you feel? What is the meaning of life? What is the meaning of your life? What makes you happy? What are the things you will always fight for? What are the things that are unacceptable in your view? These are just some of the question that will help you to get started. Let me know in the comments if this helps and if there are enough people interested in creating a personal philosophy I may write a post on how I created my philosophy.

#3 Constant Pursuit of Mastery

It’s visible that Bruce Lee has spent many years developing he’s mastery and becoming one of the best at he’s craft. And I think that it’s obvious that he wasn’t a part-timer, he was all in martial arts 24/7. Consistency was one of he’s biggest strengths. I try to promote patience and consistency in all my business ventures as much as possible.

He’s consistency was truly inspirational, he had an objective to constantly grow and improve himself, not only in martial arts, but in any other sphere of life he was interested in. Seek out the constant learning and expanding of your horizon at everything you do. And I think that Bruce Lee is proof that you can be very good at a few things (Movies, martial arts and philosophy)

#3 Silent Confidence

I’m sure that when Bruce Lee was alive, he didn’t have to tell people that he can kick their ass, they knew that he was one of the baddest man walking the planet in the 60’s and early 70’s.

There is this supreme bulletproof confidence in Bruce Lee, that is intoxicating. But there is one huge difference between him and the modern day martial artists and fighting athletes. He is silent!

He doesn’t need to tell you he is the best, he knows (and you know) that he is the best.

I think that he was silent because he had nothing to prove to no one, he has proven himself to himself. I’ve always admired that stoic silence that oozes confidence (if you have the skills to back it up). Self confidence is a tricky subject and it’s on a case by case basis. I know how I got mine, I don’t know what’s your situation, but the invitation I can offer is to find your craft, master it with consistency and once you become very good at it, you will have the self believe and confidence that you will be rewarded for your hard work and skill development.

OK folks were are done for this first edition of “4 Life Lessons I Learned From …”

I hope you enjoyed this post, it was a lot of fun for me to go back and watch some Bruce Lee movies and to do a bit of research on him. If you never watched one of he’s movies I have put a link below for some of he’s movies and books.

Bruce Lee Movies – Available at:

Bruce Lee Books and Merchandise – Available at:

Some of my Favourite Bruce Lee Quotes:

  • Showing off is the fool’s idea of glory.
  • A goal is not always meant to be reached, it often serves simply as something to aim at.
  • If you spend too much time thinking about a thing, you’ll never get it done.
    Make at least one definite move daily toward your goal.
  • A quick temper will make a fool of you soon enough.
  • A wise man can learn more from a foolish question than a fool can learn from a wise answer.
  • Don’t fear failure.  Not failure, but low aim, is the crime. In great attempts it is glorious even to fail.

Thank you for reading and make sure you fallow and bookmark my blog for the latest posts.

Support this Site:

All the content I’m creating is free of charge, however if you wish to support this site so I can dedicate more time to creating quality content, you can help out by:

